Growers Elect Two New Members to HortNZ Board

07 Jul 2015 Growers Elect Two New Members to HortNZ Board image

Horticulture New Zealand’s grower members have elected two new directors to their board.

Voting closed on Friday.

The two new directors are:

  • John Cook, a kiwifruit grower, from Bay of Plenty
  • Mike Smith, a kiwifruit grower, from Bay of Plenty

John Cook has an extensive background in agriculture and horticulture, owning both a dairy and sheep farm, and worked on and had investments in pipfruit, summerfruit and kiwifruit businesses in Australia and New Zealand. John is a member of ZESPRI’s Industry Governance Development programme, New Variety Steering Group, and Green 14 Product Development Group, and a member and founder of the ZESPRI ‘BIGTIK’ committee (Bringing Innovative Growers Technology in Kiwifruit). John has a diploma in Agriculture from Lincoln University and was a recipient of a Kellogg Rural Leadership Scholarship.

Mike Smith has been in the kiwifruit business for more than 20 years, and has a background in dairy farming and the stock and station industry. He is an alumni of the HortNZ Leadership Programme, a member of the New Zealand Kiwifruit Growers Inc Forum and the kiwifruit industry representative to the Horticulture Industry Forum. Mike is also chair of the Green Kiwifruit Growers Association and a member of the Bay of Plenty Young Fruitgrower Committee.

The new board’s term starts at the HortNZ annual general meeting in Rotorua on July 28.