Two New Members to Join HortNZ Board

03 Jun 2014

Horticulture New Zealand’s grower members have elected two new directors to their board.

Voting closed on Friday.

The two new directors are:

  • Tony Howey, a vegetable and berryfruit grower from South Canterbury, and
  • Leon Stallard, an apple grower from Hawke’s Bay.

HortNZ president Julian Raine from Nelson was re-elected for a second term.

Tony Howey has been a grower since the early 1980s. His current operation in South Canterbury grows process vegetables, potatoes, onions, carrots and blackcurrants. Tony holds a number of agriculture related directorships and has received the following awards: the Lincoln University Farmer of the Year, a Nuffield Scholarship, the FMG Rural Excellence Award and an Agmardt FAME scholarship.

Leon Stallard has been growing apples in Hawke’s Bay for 20 years. He has been strongly involved in grower representation and is the chair of the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Association. He has overseen the establishment of the Young Grower of the Year Competition within Hawke’s Bay, was instrumental in the establishment of the National Horticultural Field Day and he lead the establishment of a Pest Management Strategy for abandoned orchards in the Hawke’s Bay region.

HortNZ acknowledges the significant contribution of long-standing board member Tony Ivicevich, who did not seek re-election this year and Terry Olsen, a sitting board member who sought re-election but was unsuccessful.

The new board’s term starts at the HortNZ annual general meeting in Auckland on June 24.