To access the old HortNZ website, click here.

Central Hawkes Bay District Plan Review

Central Hawkes Bay District Council has been undertaking a review of their district plan.

The RMA requires that Councils review their plans to make sure they stay relevant – the operative District Plan has been in place since 2003. The plan review process began in 2018 and the Council released a draft plan for feedback in 2019.

The Proposed District Plan was notified for submissions in at the end of May – submissions are open until 6 August 2021.

HortNZ will review the proposed Plan, undertake consultation with growers and prepare a submission in the best interests of growers and provide further updates.

A District Plan managed how people use, subdivide and develop land, what and where they can build, and what kind of activities they can undertake.

Key matters that are managed by the District Plan include:

  • Land zoning and subdivision – managing how land use change can occur and where urban growth is located.
  • Reverse sensitivity issues for managing conflict between land uses (including things like noise, light, standards for sensitive activities.
  • Provisions for buildings and structures (such as glasshouses, packhouses, worker accommodation and crop protection structures)
  • Storage and management of hazardous substances.
  • Protection of special features,  landscapes and sites of significance.

Once the Proposed Plan has been through the RMA decision-making process (including submissions and hearings) it will replace the current District Plan.

For the most part, it is the operative District plan rules which still apply and the new (proposed District Plan rules) will not apply until the plan making process is complete, However, a small number of rules do have effect now, these are those relating to:

  • Ecosystems and Indigenous Biodiversity;
  • Historic Heritage;
  • Notable Trees;
  • Sites and Areas of Significance to Maori.