Board Members


The format of our email addresses is [email protected] For example use 'barry.oneil' and then ''

Barry O'Neil image

Barry O'Neil

President and Chairman of Directors

022 108 7007

Roles in industry:

  • Chair Tomatoes NZ
  • Chair Kauri die back independent review panel
  • Deputy director, Scion Research 
  • Director, Biological Heritage Governance Group
  • Member Primary Sector Leaders forum


  • Director of Keronlea Limited
  • Bay of Plenty kiwifruit grower


  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science (with distinction) from Massey University


  • Recipient of the Massey University Distinguished Achievement Award
  • OIE Gold medal and honorary President

Bernadine Guilleux image

Bernadine Guilleux

Vice-President and Director

027 493 4005

Roles in industry:

  • Marketing manager, Balle Bros

Career Highlights:

  • Developing a FMCG product with true grower provenance 
  • Working with a government organisation on marketing initiatives in fresh produce
  • Lobbying on behalf of Japanese car manufacturers on the European Union’s impending environmental laws
  • Consumer insight consulting in various sectors across Europe


  • Bachelor’s degree in International Business (Auckland University of Technology)

  • Bachelor’s degree in Sociology (Rene Descartes, Paris V University, France)

  • Post Graduate Diploma in Management,(ESSCA Business School, Hungary and France)
  • Master’s degree in Strategic Marketing and Communication (University Sciences Po Paris, France)

Leon Stallard image

Leon Stallard


027 605 4429

Roles in industry:

  • Trustee of the New Zealand Fruitgrowers Charitable Trust
  • Trustee of the Hawke’s Bay Fruitgrowers Charitable Trust
  • Ex officio of the Hawke’s Bay Fruit Growers Association
  • Member of Lindisfarne College Council, Parent elected Board of Trustees
  • Member of the Hawke’s Bay Primary Producers Round Table
  • Member of the Tutaekuri, Ahuriri, Ngaruroro, Karamu Catchments Stakeholders Group (TANK)
  • Member of the National Horticulture Field Day Executive Committee Member of the Horticulture New Zealand
  • Young Grower Advisory Committee


  • Pipfruit grower, Hawke’s Bay
  • Trustee, Claremont Trust

Tony Howey image

Tony Howey


021 318 441

Roles in industry/community:

  • Orari-Opihi-Pareora (OOP) Zone Committee representative, Environment Canterbury
  • South Canterbury Chamber of Commerce (president)


  • Vegetable and berryfruit grower, Canterbury
  • Director, Southern Packers
  • Director, Seedlands
  • Director, Grainstor
  • Director, Farmers Mill
  • Director, Ravensdown
  • Director, Ruralco
  • Director, Level Plains Irrigation Co
  • Director, Opuha Water


  • Bachelor of Commerce, Agriculture
  • Nuffield Scholarship
  • Agmardt FAME Scholarship


  • Lincoln University Farmer of the Year 
  • FMG Rural Excellence Award

Bruce Wills image

Bruce Wills


027 234 1516

Roles in industry:

  • Chair, NZ Poplar & Willow Research Trust
  • Chair, ApicultureNZ
  • Chair, Primary Growth Partnership P2P(Deer)
  • Chair, Motu Economic & Public Policy Research
  • Trustee, Our Land & Water National Science Challenge(NSC)
  • Trustee, Resilience to Nature’s Challenge’s NSC
  • Trustee, Cape to City
  • Trustee, Todd Foundation


  • Director, Trelinnoe Ltd
  • Director, Ravensdown
  • Director, Transfutura International Ltd
  • Director, QEII National Trust

Hugh Ritchie image

Hugh Ritchie


027 444 1224

Roles in industry:

  • Chairman / Eastern North Island representative for Foundation for Arable Research (FAR)
  • Director /  Chairman of Strategic Research Committee, FAR
  • Board Member, Process Vegetables NZ
  • Advisory Board member, Waterways
  • Director, CHB Water Holdings 
  • Executive Committee member, Federated Farmers - Hawke's Bay


  • Managing Director, Drumpeel Farms

Mike Smith image

Mike Smith


027 480 5618

Roles in industry:

  • Forum Member, New Zealand Kiwifruit Growers Incorporated
  • Advisory Forum Member, EastPack Entity Trust
  • Member, Bay of Plenty Young Fruitgrower Committee
  • Trustee, AgRecovery Foundation


  • Shareholder/Manager, Welcome Bay Farms Ltd
  • Director/Manager, Net-Man ltd: Kiwifruit Management Company
  • Shareholder, Zespri Group Ltd
  • Shareholder, EastPack Ltd

Kate Trufitt image

Kate Trufitt

Associate Director

027 809 9779

Roles in industry

  • Group Compliance and Safety Manager, Apata Group NZ
  • Chair Kiwifruit and Avocado Health and Safety Industry Forum
  • Executive member Avocado Packers Forum


  • Food Safety
  • Health and Safety
  • Operational 
  • Logistics
  • Market-based leadership

Kathryn de Bruin  image

Kathryn de Bruin


027 476 5317


  • Principal - de Bruin Chartered Accountants Ltd
  • Director - AJ & KL de Bruin Ltd



  • Fellow Chartered Accountant and Certificate of Public Practice
  • Bachelor of Business Studies from Massey University
  • Escalator Programme Graduate, Agri-Women’s Development Trust

Fellow Chartered Accountant and Certificate of Public  Practice


Dr Bruce Campbell image

Dr Bruce Campbell


021 226 8016

Roles in industry:

  • Director, New Zealand Winegrowers Research Centre Limited
  • Chair, Northland Horticulture Careers Progression Governance Group


  • Principal, Dr Bruce Campbell Consultants Limited


  • Bachelor of Agricultural Science (Hons, 1st Class) from Massey University
  • Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Sheffield


  • 2017 Prime Minister’s Science Prize, for helping the New Zealand kiwifruit industry claw its way back from the brink of destruction after the discovery of a vine-killing disease
  • 2017 Horticulture New Zealand Industry Service Award, for ensuring research promotes growth and supports New Zealand’s premium position in international markets
  • 2016 Thomson Medal, Royal Society of New Zealand for outstanding leadership of agricultural and horticultural science
  • 2014 Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Agricultural and Horticultural Science