The Greater Wellington Regional Council’s regional plans include objectives, policies and rules to manage the natural resources across the region.

  • Regional plans manage natural resources – the use of water, discharges to water, discharges to air or land and activities which cause things like soil erosion or contamination. Regional plans set out policy and rule for the management of freshwater, air, productive land and natural ecosystems across the region. These policies and rules set the requirements for each of the district councils in the region.

 E.g. rules for discharges, water takes, cultivation etc.

The Proposed Natural Resources Plan (PNRP) was notified in 2015 is currently in the appeals stage – until appeals are resolved the previous suite of regional plans (Regional Air Quality, Freshwater, Soil and Coastal Plans) continue to apply alongside the PNRP.

There are eight District Councils – Kapiti Coast, Porirua, Wellington City, Hutt City, Upper Hutt City, South Wairarapa, Carterton and Masterton – each has its own District Plans.

  • District Plans set out policy and rules for land use activities and subdivision, they manage land based on mapped ‘zones’ (e.g. Rural Zone, Residential Zone, Lifestyle Zone)

 E.g. rules for noise limits, earthworks, height or site coverage standards for buildings and structures, sets out activities which can occur without a resource consent in each zone.

Recent plan changes and submissions

Proposed Natural Resources Plan

The Natural Resources Plan is the regional plan for the Wellington Region - the 'Proposed Natural Resources Plan' was notified in July 2015, a decision version in July 2019 and now appeals on the plan have been resolved. The plan replaces the previous five regional plans for managing the coast, soil, discharges to land, fresh water and air.

 Click here to read HortNZ's summary of the provisions (June 2022)